Planning Extracurricular Activities

IMG_1882

 THE EXTRACURRICULARS

I don’t even know where to begin – I was involved in more than seven organizations on and off campus by the time I graduated:

  1. American Red Cross
  2. Promoting Animal Welfare
  3. California Scholarship Federation (CSF)
  4. Pencils of Promise (PoP)
  5. Key Club
  6. Formosa Association of Student Cultural Ambassadors (FASCA)
  7. Journalism / School Newspaper
  8. Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  9. Taekwondo
  10. Three or so various internships (all remote)

As a freshman, I was overwhelmed by all of the various amazing clubs on Club Rush Day, and therefore always felt that I wasn’t doing enough. Although in retrospect, it really might have been way too much for me alone to handle, but I wanted to be able to lead and dedicate my time to worthwhile causes I loved.

So of course four years ago, I began planning what I wanted to do four years later. By my senior year, I was the president of clubs #1-4, treasurer of #5, student adviser of #6, news editor of #7, member/competitor of #8 and a poom belt (belt right before black) of #9.

I aimed for these positions in order to gain access to more resources and achieve for myself another type of knowledge/insight into team building, management and networking – in addition to a lot more opportunities for fun events and meeting people!

DSC09679

For extracurriculars, I’d honestly recommend anything that seems up your alley in terms of how much you enjoy that club’s/organization’s activities and main cause. Planning everything out in advance doesn’t hurt either.

Always be down for experimentation – do anything you feel like you would never ever try! If you discover that you absolutely hate it, then AWESOME, you know what you dislike. If you discover that you love it, then EXCELLENT, you have something you can do for the next few years!!

What kept up my motivation throughout the years was this quote:

“You know, sometimes all you need is twenty seconds of insane courage. Just literally twenty seconds of just embarrassing bravery. And I promise you, something great will come of it.”

-Benjamin Mee, We Bought A Zoo

I was even so inspired that I used this as my senior quote, where it will be forever as a reminder of every thing that meant everything to me.

Essentially, it means “Just do it,” as also quoted by Nike and John Cena (LOL unfortunately). Every time I hesitated prior to trying something new, I would think to myself, “Alright let’s go – 20 seconds.” And here I am now, without any regret for achieving the things I did and the people I met.

-Melanie

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

