Leg Injury? Chiropractor It Is

As you’d probably know by now, I’ve had a bunch of walking problemsĀ since September, when I first injured my knee from ice skating (I have now banned myself fromĀ that activity so as to not get triggered). Spending over $300 in less than two weeks on Uber and Lyft just to go a block or two around school wasn’t a very good option for a broke college student like me, so I ironically spent anotherĀ $700 on an MRI scan and an orthopedist visit that turned out to be of no help either.

It wasn’t the ideal first semester experience, BUT good news is that I’ve finally come home for the holidays!Ā Some super amazing friends referred me to an experienced local chiropractor – yes, itĀ may be consideredĀ unconventionalĀ for a leg injury – but my treatments involve intense massages of pressure points in my knee, ultrasound waves, and physical therapy. After just two visits, I can walk longer distances with onlyĀ a knee brace (without crutches), and have corrected my posture to what it had been before!

IMG_02903.jpg
Watching people ice skate in SF made me just a little bit sad šŸ˜ž

I’m quite tired of being injured now – IĀ really didn’t appreciate my legs enough before. Especially after three and a half months of crutching around collecting peoples’ looks of sympathy, it was a shock when some ofĀ the security staff members at the Oakland International Airport were extremelyĀ condescending. They had placed me in a wheelchair although I didn’t really need it, and throughout the whole process I was treated as if my leg injury was simultaneously incapacitatingĀ my brain. It was not only humiliating for me in front of everyone else in line, but also made meĀ realize how lucky I was before just to have two healthy, working legs.

Honestly as of right now, I miss being able to dance wildly with friends, wear my favorite boots (sinceĀ my pageantsĀ I’ve been addicted to heels anywhere fromĀ 2 to 6+ inches LOL read my pageantry blogs to know why I love it so much), and walk and carry thingsĀ by myself like a fully functional human being.

Despite all the little annoyances, I think this will definitely be a (sort of) funny story to tell people in the future – it’s already become a huge joke with friendsĀ šŸ˜‚ Overall, I’m happy to be getting better, and am looking forward to being able to hike again! Of course I don’t recommendĀ getting hurt, but if you do and need help – let me know and I’ll be your best friend šŸ™†šŸ»

-Melanie

One thought on “Leg Injury? Chiropractor It Is

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

