The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Review

As a pretty hot High Elf pursuing a Restoration/Destruction double major and Conjuration/Enchantment double minor, I’m currently enrolled in the College of Winterhold. It’s a worn-down, not-that-holy castle of ancient knowledge and magicka in the middle of nowhere, in which professors and classmates alike consistently send me away on quests trying to get me killed.

img_0163
Hi this is my dorm room in the College of Winterhold! Fighting gross people all day requires stamina so I’m an alcoholic lol I love collecting wine and cheese and throwing it on my bed

Before I enrolled myself in magic school, I was a freelance outlaw – I tried stealing a horse from Whiterun Stables at night and I didn’t get caught for a full five minutes! I really loved my stolen horse, but I got arrested and fined so I guess I’ll have to buy my own someday. Later on, I became a royal Thane to the Nord Jarl of Whiterun, Balgruuf the Greater. All I did was fight a dragon and absorb his soul; the Jarl then called me Dragonborn and gave me my very own personal servant fighter Lydia!

Being a Thane and full-time mage student is hard work though. In fact, I had to retrieve a Dragonstone from Bleak Falls Barrow, which lives up to its miserable name. All the Draugrs I fought had probably failed all their training tests when they were alive, going there to dry up and wallow in their self-pity. Upon completing this quest and finishing off the biggest, baddest boss Draugr with my trusty Iron Dagger of Chills, I continue on my way with my poor servant/sidekick Lydia (lol I always make her carry all my heavy stuff even though my capacity’s only at 209/300)

img_0166
This dumb Draugr tried to kill me and bae Lydia so we roasted him and took all his gold

Why in the Skyrim world are there always so many monsters? I’ve encountered everything from dragons to Ice Wraiths…to giants and their pet mammoths. With my magical flame and spark powers however, I often like hunting down normal animals that appear before me on my way to quests: goats, foxes, wolves, chickens, bunnies, and even elk!

On a not-so-ordinary day as I stroll along an unfamiliar snowy path far out beyond Winterhold, my vision goes blurry with spots of red and I cry out in painless pain – the dual attack of Frostbite Spiders and Ice Wolves! Lydia finishes off the wolves, while I super heroically slay the vicious hairy mutants and collect their venom for future use.

img_0167
It’s almost cute if you think about it, like a giant venomous tarantula

Honestly, what’s so enticing about Skyrim is its comprehensive list of abilities, builds, and races to choose from and expand upon. The limitless ways in which you can pursue a future as well as the weird things you can do (like stealing food ohmygoodness I love searching kitchens for food, just like in real life) are my favorite things to do in the game!

Now that it’s winter break, Skyrim is one of my new addictions during my free time – it has qualities of both Runescape and Infamous that I love, and is so much more fun than Call of Duty (in my opinion ok please don’t be butthurt) Basically, if it has mythical creatures, endless quests, interactive settings, and food/items/animals that I can steal or hunt, then I’m sold. Any more games you’d recommend? You know where to contact me – or just add me on Steam 🎮 And huge thank you to Kyle for gifting me Skyrim! 😊

-Melanie

P.S. Here’s a bonus picture of me sitting in my dorm room contemplating life and sitting next to a cool-looking barrel

img_0165

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

