Update: Taiwan & Treatment

And after a hectic month…I’m back to blogging! I’m so sorry for being away from the site these past few weeks – for friends who don’t know what happened, here’s the story:

During the last week of school in May as I was moving out of my dorm, I was organizing all my belongings into boxes and moving them around. Unfortunately for me, I didn’t think that carrying and pushing these 100+ lb boxes (they’re incredibly large and full of the heaviest junk known to man) would worsen my knee injury from last September, during which I fell in an ice skating accident.

This led to me gradually being unable to walk over the course of three weeks during summer vacation, and so I began seeing doctors from both outside and inside my insurance at Kaiser. However, the wait time to actually receive treatment would be over a month – they would not accept me as a patient without the standard process of receiving an X-ray, seeing the orthopedist, being issued an MRI scan, and then going back to see the orthopedist. The earliest time I was promised to finally receive treatment or possible surgery was approximately mid-July, if not later! It was completely outrageous, and the pain in my knee was growing worse with each passing day.

So with heaps of regret and immense sadness, I had to cancel my summer classes and internships, find a new tenant for the apartment I was subletting for the summer in Berkeley, and fly back to Taiwan on a last-minute flight. Back in Taiwan, I could see doctors and receive treatment immediately the day I arrived – literally months earlier than I would have gotten in the US! MRI scans showed that I’ve had long-term strain and an inflamed partial tear on my ACL (anterior cruciate ligament) this entire past year that was just large enough to cause a whole bunch of pain and affect my walking, but small enough to avoid surgery because of the huge risks – such as never walking again.

So instead of surgery, I received two injections of steroids and hyaluronic acid in my knee over the course of a few weeks, another knee brace, and non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAID). The only thing I can do now is have constant bed rest to reduce inflammation there since ligaments don’t heal like muscles or bones do, and avoid strenuous exercises or heavy-box-carrying. If you’re wondering whether it sucks or not, YES it really does! I’m really missing being able to run and jump and stretch – but if you see me on crutches from now until December-ish, now you know why. ๐Ÿค•ย Hoping to function properly by 2018!

On the bright side, I got to visit Taiwan again after nine years (it’s still the same as it was back in 2010) and see my grandparents and relatives! I also found some more baby pictures of myself hehe – here’s one now:

FullSizeRender 2Thank you to my parents, my amazing uncle and aunt, and to my wonderful grandparents in Taiwan for helping me heal this summer. I’ll be back to school on time in August and ready to go, but need to take some time off for myself. Send meย something fun! Hope to see everyone soonย ๐ŸŽ‰

-Melanie

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

